Max2play user tutorial for Justboom DAC

Max2Play Home Forums Max2Play on Raspberry PI Max2play user tutorial for Justboom DAC

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • 23. Januar 2019 at 2:44 #44045

I am new to Max2Play. I just bought a Justboom DAC Bundle with a Pi3+ and an preconfigured premium image in the shop. Main reason to go for Max2Play was the advertized simplicity. So far I must admit that I am really frustrated after spending several hours without being able to listen to even one piece of music.

After connecting all the pieces and speakers (RCA cable) and booting for the first time things seemed to be fairly straightforward. I could access the web-page (not with „max2play“, because all my browsers did not recognize names that do not have a domain and launch a google search that brings me to the max2play.com homepage, but that was an easy one as my router shows me all active DHCP leases so I used the IP address).

I could see that the image was activated and the JustBoom DAC was preconfigured. I clicked on „Starter“ to go with the easy setup, rebooted and went on to activate the Spotify Connect Plugin. Entered my username and password and clicked on autostart (I have a premium account) and set the output option to hw:sndrpijustboomd. Saved, rebooted, waited for the device to show up in my spotify client. Nothing happened. The debug log just says
    #### Librespot Output ####
    #### Librespot Command Line Options ####
    error: Required option ’name‘ missing
    Usage: /opt/spotifyconnect/librespot [options]

No time stamp, no further info. Googled for the error message and realized that lots of other people experienced error messages like this since many years. None of the threads provided a comprehensive solution except „reinstall your image“. Tried with the ALSA mixer but just got a massive error message in debug. OK so I gave up on the Spotify plugin although this is my primary use case.