[SOLVED] How to get a stable M2P installation … TL/DR

Max2Play Home Forums General Questions on Hardware and Max2Play Versions [SOLVED] How to get a stable M2P installation … TL/DR

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • 4. September 2017 at 3:26 #31092

Dear Max2Play developers,

I have been using M2P for 10 months. For the first six months it was rock solid and stable. So much so, that I almost never ssh’d to the server in a terminal nor even loaded the M2P web UI. I simply connected with my device apps to the LMS installed via M2P and all was well. But …

<rant>
    Recently (there is a thread about it on the Forum) LMS simply stopped responding and, in trouble-shooting the LMS issue, the M2P UI also stopped working — the tabs were at the top of the web pages, but the content was blank. In the end, I was advised to re-image M2P from the IMG and start over. Which I grudgingly did.

But the resulting M2P/LMS „experience“ was awful. The M2P UI would go into a cyclical „Reloading page every 3 seconds“ while installing LMS. And it stayed in that mode until I grew weary and killed it. I re-imaged the SD card three times and that behavior never stopped. With a LOT LOT LOT of futzing I eventually got a stable, working LMS and all was mostly well (LMS is horribly slow) until this morning.

And, again, LMS stopped showing UI elements it should show. For example, for my Logitech Classic 3, it would not show options for screensavers. There should be options. So, to get to a clean state, I restarted the Pi2. It all blew up. Seriously. Nothing on restart. No M2P. No LMS. No ssh.

So, I go get my USB keyboard from my desktop computer, go find a wireless/usb mouse, unplug the HDMI cable from the Pioneer A/V system, to get terminal access to the Pi2 to see what the hell is going on. The screen shows a bloody CLI login prompt. WTF? How did that happen?