Question concerning usage max2play

Max2Play Home Forums Max2Play on Raspberry PI Question concerning usage max2play

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • 22. Februar 2016 at 22:24 #18635

H All,

I’m new to Rpi’s and odroid mini computers. But when I was looking for a multi room solution I stumbled on max2play.

Let me first explain what I intended to do. I’m a home cinema enthusiast and I have 2 preamps which provide zone2-3 analog outputs. The preamps themselves have an application which allows control for the source selection. Source meaning spotify,nas share,airplay, tuner etc. This output would then be connected to a power amp by means of rca, I have 6 stereo connections available. The problem herein lies in the fact that I can only use the zone output once and I cannot control more than one room because zone 3 does not allow as many source selections. So I would end up playing music in all rooms without the ability to play another source in another room.

So I started looking for a solution and since Rpi’s or equivalent offer rca stereo outputs I might of found the solution.

What I’d like to do but I’m not sure Max2play works like that:

I’d like to provide music in 2 rooms,the kitchen and bathroom. Therefore the kitchen and bathroom require their own dedicated RPi. From 1 Rpi ‚the master‘ Rpi I’d control what to play and where to play it.

Is that the wa Max2play is intended to be used? In order for that to work do the RPi’s for each room need to reside in that room if attached by ethernet Rj45?

All input is welcome.
    Thanks.
    Bart

• This topic was modified 8 years, 2 months ago by bart.
    23. Februar 2016 at 14:13 #18654

Hi Bart,

first, I would like to show you our Multiroom Audio Configurator which might help you with your plans as well.

If I understand, correctly, you want to setup the system in three rooms: home cinema, bathroom and kitchen.