Max2play on Raspberry P1 (3B+) keeps corrupting SD cards

Max2Play Home Forums Max2Play on Raspberry PI Max2play on Raspberry P1 (3B+) keeps corrupting SD cards

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • 7. März 2021 at 23:22 #50888

Hi

I have been running Max2play for a couple of years now on a Raspberry Pi 3B+ as a squeezebox server. Generally it works well. However, I am finding that it crashes seriously fairly regularly (3 times in the last 12 months). Each time, the only way to bring it back to life has been to create a new image on a new SD card (tried power cycling several times). I have been using Kingston class 10 SD 16GByte cards. I had been using m2p_stretch_rpi_v249.img until about 3 months ago. Since then I have been using m2p_buster_rpi-v253_new.img and this has now just crashed again. The pi does not boot up and I am about to reflash onto yet another new card. A few notes about the installation

1. Music is located on a USB key plugges into the pi (not the SD card which is only used for the OS)
    2. Connected to my LAN via ethernet
    3. Powered from official Raspberry PSU and this plugged into a (quality) UPS
    4. I have 8 Squeezebox clients served by the pi

Any guidance please? It is getting tiresome (and costly) replacing the SD cards. SHould I be using a different brand or type?

Thanks
    Mike

9. März 2021 at 16:05 #50898

Hi Mike,

There could be many reasons why your SD card gets corrupted. Even if you use an official power supply for the Raspberry Pi, the psu is always a possible reason for such problems. Of course, the SD card itself can also cause the problems. However, I cannot recommend any other brand to you. We primarily use SanDisk cards here on site. However, at least in theory there should not be any serious quality differences between Class 10 SD cards. To rule out that it is a software problem on the part of Max2Play: Which plugins are installed and activated on the Pi?