DTS Pass through

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • 9. Oktober 2015 at 16:22 #16257

Squeezeboxes could do pass through of DTS embedded in flac when volume was fixed to 100%. I know that this can be done using RPi over HDMI because Kodi on RPi is perfectly capable of doing passing DTS-encoded flac to a DTS-capable receiver (and picorep*****r used to be able to do it before they broke it).

As fas as I can see however squeezelite in max2play (v2.22) for RPi does not support this feature. Do you have any plans to make this happen or advice?

12. Oktober 2015 at 17:58 #16319

Hi d4n3ll,

thank you for your input.

Do you know more details about what is necessary to implement this feature? For example kernel changes, Squeezelite playback via HDMI, …

Kind regards

Maximilian from Max2Play

20. Oktober 2015 at 13:51 #16442

Hi Maximillian

Really sorry about the slow response – I’ve been away.

I’m also afraid I have no technical knowledge – I’m just a user, noyt a programmer. I know that picorep****r uses squeezelite too and could do passthrough (check out v 1.18b). As with hardware squeezeboxes it was initiated by setting output volume to 100%, but that’s simply an interface issue I guess.

Clearly passthrough of DTS-enocoded flac over HDMI is generally feasible as the kodi installation in max2play already does it. But it would be so cool if you could add it to your squeezelite implementation.

Best regards

Dan

21. Oktober 2015 at 12:12 #16461

Hi Dan,

first of all, we need to understand what exactly you mean by „DTS passthrough“. We guess you are talking about the drop in quality of certain music files during HDMI playback on your Squeezebox server, e.g. FLAC files with 32 bit rate and 96 KHz sampling rate are played back with 16 bit and 48 KHz only.