Another Synology Mounting Problem

Max2Play Home Forums Max2Play as Squeezebox (Player / Server) Another Synology Mounting Problem

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • 23. Dezember 2016 at 3:17 #25189

I am posting my problem as a new thread as I had no response when I posted on the other Synology thread by Tobias

Please help me if you can !

I am new to raspberry Pi , NAS and all things networking so please feel free to make the most basic of suggestions.

I installed a raspberry Pi 3 as Squeezebox Server a couple of weeks ago. It works great , temporarily set up a USB external hard drive to test and I got that figured out no problem. Got the premium license to try the wifi access point and turned that on . That works fine although not very high bitrate.

I just installed a new Synology NAS (216J) on my home network for permanent redundant music and music storage. As I mentioned above I know nothing about NAS devices and very little about networking in general. I can see the NAS in windows on home PC and laptops. Was able to access the NAS through those devices via the DSM web app and also was able to map a network drive. Also was able to access the NAS with my android phone using the Synology app using the quickconnect feature.

When trying to mount the drive :
    I see the”//diskserver/music” folder when I hit the ” show network devices ” botton in max2play web interface

I tried a couple of ways to mount it:

//192.168.2.23/share/music
    /mnt/share
    cifs
    user=admin,password=password,sec=ntlm,iocharset=utf8

//192.168.2.23/share
    /mnt/share
    cifs
    user=admin,password=password,sec=ntlm,iocharset=utf8

//DISKSERVER/share/
    /mnt/share
    cifs
    user=guest,password=password,sec=ntlm,iocharset=utf8