Airplay to USB-DAC distorted with crackles – Squeezelite on same output perfect

Max2Play Home Forums Max2Play on Raspberry PI Airplay to USB-DAC distorted with crackles – Squeezelite on same output perfect

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • 18. September 2015 at 11:49 #15727

Hello there,

this is my first time experience with a Raspi, and I quite setup everything now in a snap. With your helpful image, everything works almost right out of the box.
    Only two problems need to be fixed for me now concerning my USB-DAC (Dspeaker Antimode 2.0). My Raspi2 is setup for autostarting Squeezelite and Shairport. Once I found out, that for music-based sample-rate switching, the right audio device had to be taken, squeezelite was running enormously fine. Perfect sound!
    I’ve noticed, if you take the „Front-USB-Audio“-device (the others are called „device – USB-Audio“ and „sysdevice – USB-Audio) it gave exclusive access to one service only. I know this is a regular behaviour for bit-perfect streaming, no mixing.
    So I start to disable Squeezelite, and started Shairport-only. But I noticed strong crackling sound, as if you would be listening a very scratched vinyl. It was better with the other devices, but far from being enjoyable.
    I think, I have to tune shairport in it’s buffersettings or so, how do I do that with your distribution. I just need a small hint, where I have to look.
    Furthermore, I know that my USB-DAC has hardware volume control. This cannot be adjusted for now. Can you pinpoint me a direction, or would you rather advice me to get a M2P license, I’ve seen several USB-DAC settings have been introduced there.

Just one thing, if I cannot get shairport to play nicely with my USB-DAC, can I put a Hifiberry Digi+ onboard, set the shairport exclusively to run there, and let squeezelite feed my USB-DAC, both running simultaneosly?

Thanks for you distribution and advice!

Don

21. September 2015 at 14:41 #15753

Hi donald,