Squeezebox server samba mount – raspi 3, Max2Play 2.45, Ubuntu server 16.04

Max2Play Home Forums Max2Play as Squeezebox (Player / Server) Squeezebox server samba mount – raspi 3, Max2Play 2.45, Ubuntu server 16.04

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • 15. Februar 2018 at 7:44 #34016

I am a complete noob with raspi and Max2Play. I landed here after coming across a multiroom install highlighted over at HiFiBerry. I received the Pi as a gift and had been pondering a useful application. This seems to me to be a brilliant use for it.

I’m running Mx2Play version 2.45, with the premium license. The bluetooth, Squeezebox server and multisqueeze plugins are installed.

The Ubuntu server has a shared folder for all of our audio and is shared by user, across the network. I struggled for a day or two trying to get it installed via the Filesystem mount tab, rather unsuccessfully but I’d forgotten much of what I’d learned during the the server build.

First thing was to create a new user called „mainpi“ on the server, and assign it to the user group that has access to the //server/share. Using SSH with the raspi, I successfully mounted //server/share to /mnt/music and added it to /etc/fstab. When the pi reboots, the fileshare remounts and shows in the filesystem mount tab. From the raspi CLI, I can enter and access the files in /mnt/music. So far so good.

However, this isn’t reflected in the Squeezebox server interface. The shared folder does not show up in the menu selection on the Squeezebox settings „Basic“ tab, when using the Browse feature for the Media folders. If I enter it manually, the system tries to rescan, but the finds no files.

Scanner Log:
    [18-02-14 21:39:34.0312] Slim::Utils::Scanner::Local::rescan (181) Discovering audio files in /mnt/music
    [18-02-14 21:39:34.0618] Slim::Utils::Scanner::Local::Async::__ANON__ (71) Error scanning file or folder: /mnt/music: Permission denied