[SOLVED] Plugin to play a song when button is pressed (door bell)

Max2Play Home Forums Max2Play on Raspberry PI [SOLVED] Plugin to play a song when button is pressed (door bell)

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • 29. Juli 2015 at 13:57 #15233

Hi,

I’d like to implement a special door bell for our house which plays a specific MP3 (saved on SD card) when the door bell is pressed.
    I have experience with Arduino and I’m a software developer.

The HiFiBerry Amp+ is exactly what I was looking for hardware wise. And the combination with Max2Play looks very promising.

All I need to do know is to read an input pin on the Raspberry and start a song on Max2Play if the button is pressed.
    I had a look at your plugin developing video but it seems more like a webinterface tool than what I’d like to do.

In a nutshell: Can you tell me if such a plugin/addition can be (easily) added to Max2Play?
    The very cool solution would be if I can change/choose the song via webinterface… which should be possible with the plugin developing as far as I can tell.

thanks
    Soko

• This topic was modified 8 years, 8 months ago by soko.
    • This topic was modified 7 years, 3 months ago by Christoph.
    30. Juli 2015 at 15:23 #15240

Hi Soko,

it is possible to connect your doorbell to some audiooutput with Max2Play. You basically need to write your own bash-script to play a MP3. Following things are needed:

1. WiringPI library and a small script written in C that compiles on the PI to capture the event of the GPIO-PIN. This script should execute a Shell Script.

This is an example of a C-Script, that captures a button event on the PI:

//build with gcc -I. -o button button.c -lwiringPi
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <string.h>
    #include <errno.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>
    #include <wiringPi.h>

typedef enum { false, true } bool;
    static bool globalActive = false;
    static int globalCounter = 0;

void myInterrupt(void) {
      int pin = digitalRead(2);